Filmography 1909-1940Filmography 1941-1950Filmography 1951-2015
This is the "Home" page of the "The Three Stooges En'soitenly'pedia" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

This guide provides resources related to the history, filmography, and bibliography of the Three Stooges.
Last Updated: Apr 20, 2017 URL: http://libguides.nccuslis.org/threestooges Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Introduction


"Hello, Hello, Hello!" The Three Stooges were a highly successful vaudeville and film comedy team, best known for the 190 short features they produced for Columbia Pictures from the 1930's-1970's, films which remain in syndication today. The prodigious creative output of the Stooges resulted in over 450 film credits. Numerous studies have been written about the Stooges, and countless video compilations have been released over the years. This LibGuide is designed to provide readers with several essential, yet comprehensive, resources to learn more about the history, filmography, and bibliography of the Three Stooges, highlighting works which illustrate their cultural, social, and political impact in popuar culture. 

Learn More

  • Official Website of the Three Stooges
    The official website for the Three Stooges contains news about ongoing film productions, conventions, as well as current air dates for syndicated material. Additional highlights are well written brief biographies (linked to the left), an easy to navigate filmography, digital downloads, news, social media, and video content. An essential resource for current events related to the Three Stooges.
  • Licencing information
    C3 Entertainment, formerly Comedy III Productions, is the licensing and production arm of the Three Stooges, formed by the Three Stooges in 1959. The website for C3 provides information about current film productions underway, as well as licencing information about all aspects of the Three Stooges.
  • http://www.threestooges.net/
    This site is fan-created and maintained, with crowd-sourced information. It is a comprehensive online resource, with detailed filmography including transcripts for a majority of the films. An online forum, and media library of stills and audio clips is maintained through this site. Readers can also find a comprehensive bibliography, discography, and videography. The information contained on this site is extremely granular and in-depth, and may be too comprehensive for some.
  • The Official Three Stooges Fan Club
    In addition to the Three Stooges Fan Club mentioned above, C3 Entertainment operates an official fan club which issues a newsletter. Formerly, the newsletter was distributed in print, however it is now distributed as a PDF to fan club members. Back issues are restricted behind a paywall, but available to members.
  • The Stoogeum
    The Stoogeum is a museum dedicated to the Three Stooges in Pennsylvania, with roughly 10,000 artifacts in the collection. This website not only provides information about visiting the museum and the history of the collections, it is home to the Three Stooges Fan Club. This fan club is one of the worlds oldest and largest fan clubs, founded in 1974 with the blessing of Moe and Larry. Since 1974, the fan club has issued the Three Stooges Journal quarterly. Back issues can be purchased through this site.
  • www.3-stooges.com
    This fan-created site is dated, however it was one of the premiere websites for Three Stooges information during the 1990's in the early stages of the Internet. Biography, filmography, and history sections are informative, as is the information on collectible merchandise (as of the mid-1990's). All told, it is an amusing site to visit.
  • Officially Licensed Three Stooges Store
    An abundance of merchandise related to the Three Stooges has been produced over the years. ShopKnuckleheads is the official store for recently produced Three Stooge merchandise.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
William McLean
 

A Brief History

In 1922, while performing at the Prospect Heights Theater, Moe Howard encountered an old friend, Ted Healy, who was experiencing success on the vaudeville circuit. Moe and his brother Shemp joined Ted Healy to critical success. In 1928, Larry Fine joined the troupe, and they began performing as Ted Healy and his Three Stooges. Following a performance of the musical A Night in Venice (1929), the team was signed onto the Rube Goldberg film Soup to Nuts (1930), their first motion picture. In 1932, Shemp had the opportunity to work in the successful Joe Palooka films, and reluctantly left the group, replaced by Moe and Shemp's younger brother, Jerome (Curly). The troupe produced several feature films through the early 1930's.

In 1934, Moe, Larry, and Curly parted ways with Ted Healy, signing a contract with Columbia Pictures to star in several two-reel short films (approximately 16-18 minutes in length). Their first short film was released on March 5, 1935, to mixed reviews. Following the release of their second short film, Punch-Drunks, in November of 1935, the Stooges were signed on for a seven year contract with the studio. Their third film, Men in Black, was nominated for an Academy Award. On January 19, 1940, the Three Stooges released You Nazty Spy!, the first film released in America to satirize Adolf Hitler and Nazi Germany. The short was released nine months before Charlie Chaplin's The Great Dictator. At the time, America remained neutral and largely isolationist about the War. You Nazty Spy was in defiance of the Hays Code, which prohibited many types of political and satirical messages in film. 

In 1945, Curly suffered a stroke, and had to cease filming in 1946. From 1934-1947, Moe Larry and Curly produced 97 short films for Columbia. After Curly left the group, Shemp returned to fill the roll. Together, the three produced 77 short films. In 1955, Shemp passed away, and was replaced by Joe Besser, a prolific comedian. After only 16 shorts, and one year, Joe Besser's contract was terminated. The group resigned with Columbia in 1959, with Joe DeRita as the third Stooge, and produced six feature length films with Columbia, and one on loan to Fox. The troupe remained active through 1970, appearing in public and on television, until Larry suffered a stroke. With this, the team finally disbanded. Both Larry and Moe passed away in 1975.

The Three Stooges remain in syndication, and in 2012 a feature length film was produced in homage to the Three Stooges. Two additional films are currently in production. 

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip