This is the "Home" page of the "Stanley Kubrick Research Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Stanley Kubrick Research Guide  

A Guide to Critical Research of the Work of Stanley Kubrick
Last Updated: May 1, 2014 URL: http://libguides.nccuslis.org/jms_kubrick Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

About this Guide

This LibGuide was designed with the intention of aiding a graduate student in an English, Film, Philosophy, Psychology or other relevant class enrolled in a North Carolina University in research on the filmmaker Stanley Kubrick. As one of the most respected and critically esteemed directors in the history of cinema, and because of the cerebral and psychological nature of his films, there has been a large amount of literature produced about Kubrick’s work. This guide attempts to narrow the literature down to materials that are relevant to criticism and commentary on the works of Kubrick as a whole.

The resources are divided into several sections. “Books” contains materials published as a book and held within University libraries across the state. “Bibliography” includes a bibliography that, while dated, is very thorough in identifying the literature available to those wishing to research Kubrick further. “Encyclopedias” contains reference works focused on factual data that can be useful when considering critical analysis of Kubrick’s films. “Periodicals and Individual Essays” are works that can be access through online databases or found in collections of bound periodicals that are most useful to surveying Kubrick’s work as a whole. “Interviews and Primary Writings” is a collection of Kubrick’s interviews and quotations. And, finally, “Online Resources” collects some of the most reputable and trustworthy information sources on Kubrick on the Internet.

 

The Works

 

About Stanley Kubrick

Stanley Kubrick (1928-1999) was one of the most influential and groundbreaking directors in the history of cinema. While Kubrick was born and raised in the Bronx, he established his home in the United Kingdom and did the overwhelming majority of his filmmaking there. During his eclectic career, he covered an amazing range of genres, such as the war movie (Paths of Glory, Full Metal Jacket), dark satire (Dr. Strangelove or: How I Learned to Stop Worrying and Love the Bomb, A Clockwork Orange), science fiction (2001: A Space Odyssey), period drama (Barry Lyndon), horror (The Shining), and marital drama (Eyes Wide Shut).

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip