This is the "Home" page of the "Autism: Information for Parents and Caregivers" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Answers and resources for those who are raising children with autism.
Last Updated: Nov 20, 2017 URL: http://libguides.nccuslis.org/content.php?pid=712640 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Overview

This guide is for parents and caregivers of children with autism who are looking for information about the condition. We have pulled together information from various resources - scholarly, popular, nonprofit associations, government organizations and personal stories of those affected - to create a starting point for caregivers in search of answers and support.
 
LibGuide contents:
 
What Is Autism?
  • Gives a brief description of autism from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
  • Explains why the symbol for autism is a puzzle piece
  • Provides statistics about the prevalence of autism in the U.S. and other developed countries
  • Includes an informative video from the YouTube eLearning channel, Osmosis

 

Causes & Symptoms

Using information from the CDC:

  • Outlines causes and risk factors of autism
  • Explains who is affected
  • Describes symptoms
  • Addresses the “vaccines cause autism” controversy

 

Treatment & Therapies

Using information from the CDC and Drugs.com:

  • Lists various types of treatment for autism and highlights the need for early intervention
  • Addresses some of the therapies that help with autism, including Applied Behavior Analysis or ABA
  • Includes some alternative treatments, like dietary approaches
  • Lists the ten most common drugs for treating the symptoms of autism

 

Current Research & Scholarly Articles

  • Includes relevant, but approachable scholarly articles from the past year
  • Also includes a couple of particularly relevant popular articles
  • In a snapshot of current culture, lists examples of autism in the media, from television shows about the disorder to news clips

 

Major Associations & Organizations

  • Lists a sampling of the most well-known U.S. autism associations and organizations that are not included on other pages of the libguide
  • Addresses the controversy over the most well supported autism nonprofit, Autism Speaks

 

Resources: Reference Websites

  • Provides an overview of two websites that address autism credibly and thoroughly: The American Psychological Association (apa.org) and the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (cdc.gov)

 

Resources: Books

  • Lists books to help caregivers understand autism
  • Lists books for children with autism
  • Lists books that feature a caregiver’s point of view
  • Includes a number of places to find additional books about autism

 

Resources: Support Groups

  • Includes descriptions and links to many well-known support groups for parents and caregivers of children with autism
  • Lists those resources that can help with financial support for families dealing with autism

 

Resources: Conferences & Events

  • A snapshot of upcoming conferences on autism hosted by major organizations


Autism: Stories of Hope

  • A selection of video stories of parents, caregivers and those with autism persevering and succeeding

We hope this guide is a good source of information for parents and caregivers. We'd love to hear your feedback. Please leave a comment or question anywhere in the libguide that you have suggestions.
 
Thank you,
 
Brianna, Gina and Jerrod 
 

Gina Rozier

Profile Image
Gina Rozier

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Brianna Daniel

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Jerrod Johnson
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip