This is the "Home" page of the "Resources for Senior Citizens" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Resources for Senior Citizens  

Last Updated: Apr 27, 2017 URL: http://libguides.nccuslis.org/content.php?pid=709708 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Introduction

This guide is designed for seniors and those invested in the needs of seniors such as caregivers, social workers, family members, students and professionals in the field of gerontology. The guide can be used to locate relevant topics on aging from local, federal and state resources and agencies.

 

Federal and State Agencies

Administration on Aging--U.S. Dept of Health and Human Services

The Administration on Aging (AOA) is the principal agency of the U.S Department of Health and Human Services designated to carry out the provisions of the Older Americans Act of 1965. The AOA promotes the well-being of older individuals by providing services and programs designed to help them live independently in their homes and communities. Some services include elder justice and adult protective services, health & wellness programs, and home and community-based long-term care.

AARP

AARP is a nonprofit, nonpartisan, social welfare organization with a membership of nearly 38 million that helps people turn their goals and dreams into real possibilities, strengthens communities and fights for the issues that matter most to families — such as health care, employment and income security, and protection from financial abuse.  Services offered by AARP span health products, travel and leisure products, and life event services. Specific products include Medicare supplemental insurance; member discounts on rental cars, cruises, vacation packages and lodging; special offers on technology and gifts; pharmacy services; legal services; and long-term care insurance.

Medicare.gov

This site provides information on the most popular medical insurance for senior adults. Use the site to apply for medicare, find out what conditions are covered, file claims and appeals and locate a local physician.

NCOA--National Council on Aging

This agency is focused on improving the health and economic security of older adults by providing access to benefits, jobs, home equity, Medicare, and long-term services and supports, and working to preventing hunger, falls, and chronic disease.  

North Carolian Area Agencies on Aging

Area Agencies on Aging are offices established through the Older Americans Act that facilitate and support programs addressing the needs of older adults in a defined geographic region and support investment in their talents and interests. In North Carolina AAAs are located within regional Councils of Government. A few of the services they provide include transportation, home-delivered meals, prescription drug programs, and healthy aging programs.

North Carolina Department of Health & Human Services--Aging and Adult Services

The Division of Aging and Adult Services works to promote the independence and enhance the dignity of North Carolina's older adults, persons with disabilities and their families through a community based system of opportunities, services, benefits and protections. This site provides a wealth of resources including information on adult day services, elder housing, family caregiver support, senior centers and much more.

Retirement/USA.gov

Learn some of the basics about retirement and pension benefits. Find  resources to help with retirement planning.

Senior Corps

Senior Corps programs include RSVP, Foster Grandparents and Senior Companions. Senior Corps programs benefit the community, the organization, and the volunteer. RSVP is one of the largest volunteer networks in the nation for people 55 and over. Seniors can use the skills and talents learned over the years, or develop new ones while serving in a variety of volunteer activities within thier communities. Services include organizing neighborhood watch programs, tutoring and mentoring youth, renovating homes, teaching English to immigrants with commitments ranging from a few hours to 40 hours per week.

SHIIP--Seniors' Health Insurance Information Program

Offered by the NC Department of Insurance, the Seniors' Health Insurance Information Program (SHIIP) counsels Medicare beneficiaries and caregivers about Medicare, Medicare supplements, Medicare Advantage, Medicare Part D, and long-term care insurance.

Social Services-NC Dept of Health and Human Services--Aging and Adult Services

Aging and Adult Services works to promote the independence and enhance the dignity of North Carolina's older adults, persons with disabilities and their families, through a community based system of opportunities, services, benefits and protections. Get information on nursing home inspections, senior nutrition programs and senior centers.  Local county directory for the department of social services.

U.S. Social Security Administration

This site allow users to apply for social security, medicare, disability and other programs. Anyone can create a My Social Security Account to see their current or future benefits. Download forms, check the status of an applicaton, and learn more about retirement and how the Social Security Administration can help through services, webinars and publications.

 

Aging in Place

The majority of older adults want to stay in their home in the community for as long as possible. Aging in place is a complex multidimensional phenomena that has an impact on housing, the community and social policies. This recorded  webinar looks at how communities and nursing homes can enable seniors to age at home as long as feasible through various supportive measures. https://vimeo.com/213104233

 

Books

Cover Art
The Savvy Senior - Jim Miller
ISBN: 0786269278
Publication Date: 2004-11-01
"If you're looking for answers to senior questions, here is the solution. Why spend endless hours searching the Internet or talking to automated phone systems trying to figure out your Social Security benefits? Spend only what you need to on your prescription drugs, and get what you're owed from Medicare. Turn to the source that millions of readers have trusted - Jim Miller, the author of ""The Savvy Senior"" newspaper column, published in over 400 newspapers nationwide."

Cover Art
Older Americans Information Directory, 2016/17 - Laura Mars (General Editor)
ISBN: 1619259079
Publication Date: 2016-03-01
Older Americans Information Directory is an invaluable resource that offers up-to-date information on the prevalent social, health and financial issues facing older Americans in the 21st century, as well as recreational and educational opportunities to en

Cover Art
Older Americans, Vital Communities - W. Andrew Achenbaum
ISBN: 9780801887680
Publication Date: 2007-10-25
This thought-provoking work grapples with the vast range of issues associated with the aging population and challenges people of all ages to think more boldly and more creatively about the relationship between older Americans and their communities. He calls on baby boomers to create institutional structures that promote productive, vital growth for the common good, and he invites people of all ages to think more boldly about what they will do with the long lives ahead of them.

Cover Art
Coping with Your Difficult Older Parent - Grace Lebow; Barbara Kane; Irwin Lebow
ISBN: 038079750X
Publication Date: 1999-02-01
Do You Have An Aging Parent Who -- Blames you for everything that goes wrong? Cannot tolerate being alone, wants you all the time? Is obsessed with health problems, real, or imagined? Make unreasonable and/or irrational demands of you? Is hostile, negative and critical? Coping with these traits in parents is an endless high-stress battle for their children. Though there's no medical definition for "difficult" parents, you know when you have one. For the first time, here's a common-sense guide from professionals, with more than two decades in the field, on how to smooth communications with a challenging parent.

Cover Art
Simplifying Life as a Senior Citizen - Cleveland; Cleveland Cleveland; Joan Cleveland
ISBN: 0312187580
Publication Date: 1998-06-15
Providing solutions for common problems that afflict the daily lives of the elderly, this book presents information to help readers save time, money, frustration, and pain.

Cover Art
The Second Fifty Years - Walter J. Cheney; William J. Diehm; Frank E. Seeley
ISBN: 1557785317
Publication Date: 1992-05-01
A comprehensive guide to growing older gracefully in America includes realistic information on housing, travel and recreation, sex, financial planning, volunteering, driving, grandparenting, and health care.

Cover Art
Public Health for an Aging Society - Thomas R. Prohaska (Editor); Lynda A. Anderson; Robert H. Binstock
ISBN: 9781421404356
Publication Date: 2012-02-21
This comprehensive survey discusses research, policy, and practice; managing and preventing diseases; promoting mental and physical health; and maintaining quality of life for an aging society. Chapters address the most critical public health issues facing an aging society, including Medicare and family caregiving, and introduce many new and emerging concepts, such as emergency preparedness, technology in aging, translational research, genomics, and environmental influences on health and health practices. This book provides the latest information and future directions for the public health of this growing population.

Cover Art
The Merck Manual of Health and Aging - Mark H. Beers (Editor); Thomas V. Jones (Editor); Michael Berkwits (Editor); Merck and Co., Inc. Staff
ISBN: 0345482743
Publication Date: 2005-11-29
From one of the most trusted names in medical reference comes an accessible, all-inclusive guide for older adults that shares what measures to take to optimize the aging process, prevent disease, and improve your overall health.

Cover Art
Aging Well - George E. Vaillant
ISBN: 0316090077
Publication Date: 2003-01-08
In a unique series of studies, Harvard University has followed 824 subjects from their teens to old age. Professor George Vaillant now uses these to illustrate the surprising factors involved in reaching happy, healthy old age.

Cover Art
Aging - G. Gale (Editor); Noah Berlatsky
ISBN: 0737769033
Publication Date: 2014-04-15
Global Viewpoints: Aging examines the effect of aging populations on society, policy solutions to aging populations, attitudes towards the elderly, and health issues and aging.

Cover Art
Children of the Aging Self-Absorbed - Nina W. Brown
ISBN: 1626252041
Publication Date: 2015-09-01
This essential book shows how to cope with your aging parent's narcissistic behavior, and provides tips to help protect yourself and your children from their self-absorbed, destructive actions. As your self-absorbed parent grows older and becomes more dependent on you, hurtful relationships may resurface and become further strained. You will learn practical, powerful strategies for navigating the intense negative feelings that your parents can incite, as well as tips to protect your children from the criticism, blame, or hostility that may exist between you and their grandparent. Finally, you'll learn to set limits with your parent so you can stay sane during this difficult time.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip