This is the "Welcome" page of the "Diabetes and You" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Diabetes and You  

A collection of resources and information available to patrons of the Cumberland County Public Library and Information Center on Type 1 and Type 2 Diabetes.
Last Updated: May 4, 2017 URL: http://libguides.nccuslis.org/content.php?pid=709563 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Welcome Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Local organizations:

Better Health of Cumberland County 

1422 Bragg Boulevard
Fayetteville, NC 28301
Phone (910) 483-7534
 

http://www.betterhealthcc.org/

Provides classes, clinics, and education to Diabetics living in Cumberland County.  All of their services are free of charge.

Diabetes Self-Management Education Program (DSME) Cumberland County Dept. of Public Health

1235 Ramsey Street
Fayetteville, NC 28301

Phone: 910-433-3661

http://co.cumberland.nc.us/health/services/diabetes_training.aspx

One-on-one counseling and group sessions with registered dieticians and nurses.

Community Health Interventions and Sickle Cell Agency, Inc., (CHISCA, Inc)

2409 Murchison Road
Fayetteville, NC 28301
Email: osc@nc.rr.com

Phone: (910) 488-6118

http://www.communityhealthinterventions.org/fayetteville-office/

Holds workshops for Diabetes prevention.  Services Cumberland, Hoke, Harnett, and Robeson Counties.

Cape Fear Valley Diabetes & Endocrine Center

101 Robeson Street, Suite 405
Fayetteville, NC 28301

(910) 615-1623

Doctors from CFV D&EC hold quarterly seminars at Honeycutt Recreation Center, 352 Devers St.

 

 

 

 

Welcome!

In the United States, an average of 1.4 million people are diagnosed with Diabetes every year.  A 2012 study by the American Diabetes Association found that nearly ten percent of the U.S. population were diabetic.  As this condition becomes more prevalent in our community, Your Library wants you to have the most up-to-date and accurate information about it, so that you can make the best decisions about your health.  We have collected a wide range of materials here including cookbooks, magazines, online databases, and local organizations, but we have so much more.  Stop by your local branch or call to find out more about other resources available to you. 

 

Helpful webpages:

There is great information available on the web, but not all websites can be counted on as reliable and truthful infomation sources.  Below is a selection of trusted websites created by medical and govenment organizations on diabetes.  As with any information that you find on the web about health and wellness, be sure to discuss it with your healthcare provider before making any changes to your diet, medication, or lifestyle

The American Diabetes Association website is an excellent resource that covers diabetes from nuts to bolt.  They have created a site with clear and easy to read articles on a variety of topics related to diabetes, including explanations of the different types of diabetes, risk factors, what to do after you are diagnosed, lifestyle changes, even a quiz that users can take to see if they are at risk for developing diabetes, plus much more.

http://www.diabetes.org/

The WebMD Diabetes page is more interactive than most sites with quizzes, slideshows, and message boards.  Use this site to find hundreds of current articles on all types of diabetes and management. 

http://www.webmd.com/diabetes/

MedlinePlus Diabetes site is clear and simple to read.  There aren't a lot of pictures or flashy animation here, but there are great articles on research, statistics, and clinical trials that are readable and easy to understand.  MedlinePlus also offers articles in Spanish and special large-print, articles that are labeled "easy-to-read."

https://medlineplus.gov/diabetes.html

The National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases Health Information Center is a division of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.  Here you can find up to date information on diabetes with an emphasis on prevention and treatment.  NIDDK even has a radio program on various topics related to diabetes that users can listen to through the website. 

https://www.niddk.nih.gov/health-information/diabetes

The NC Health Info Diabetes page is a collection of resources from around the web.  It cover most of the basic information tht you need to know about diabetes, but also includes a few video tutorials, online support groups and forums, reviews of mobile apps for diabetics, and North Carolina specific resources.

http://www.nchealthinfo.org/health-topics/diabetes

The National Diabetes Prevention Program page of the Center for Disease Control's website details lifestyle changes that can cut most people's risk for Type 2 Diabetes in half.  The program is outlined in-depth along with statistics and studies.  This site also includes searchable directories to help users find local programs and organizations that can help them prevent or treat Type 2 Diabetes.

https://www.cdc.gov/diabetes/prevention/index.html

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip