This is the "Picking Up Stitches" page of the "Needles & Hooks" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Needles & Hooks   Tags: crochet, crocheting, knitting  

A resource for the new knitter and crocheter.
Last Updated: Apr 20, 2017 URL: http://libguides.nccuslis.org/content.php?pid=709246 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Picking Up Stitches Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Knitting Instruction

These books, and many others, teach the basics of knitting.

Cover Art
A to Z of Knitting - Martingale and Company Staff
ISBN: 9780975709443
Publication Date: August 2006
Whether you're a new knitter or just want to try new techniques, this must-have resource offers all the knitting know-how you'll ever need. With over 1,000 close-up photographs featuring real hands holding real yarn and needles, there's no easier way to learn!

* Straightforward text and full-color photos walk you from beginner's basics through gorgeous Aran, Fair Isle, entrelac, and intarsia knitting

* Discover how to add an astounding array of embellishments with step-by-step instructions for embroidery, beading, and much more

* Fix mistakes, care for garments, and find the answers to almost any knitting query you might come across---this book simplifies it all


Cover Art
Idiot's Guide - Knitting - Megan Goodacre
ISBN: 9781615644100
Publication Date: 2013-09-03
Knitting is one of the most popular crafts among people all ages, but if you've never picked up a set of needles before, it's hard to know where to begin. Geared toward the absolute beginner, Idiot's Guides: Knitting teaches the basics of knitting in a series of lessons using full-color, step-by-step photo-rich instructions that enable you to clearly see how each stitch, finger movement, and yarn movement is executed. Lessons are accompanied by practice projects, allowing you to try out your newly learned skill. As the lessons become more advanced, so do the projects, so you'll not only get instant gratification by knitting a project right away, you'll also become more proficient as you learn and have the motivation to keep going. In addition, the book includes over 20 fun and fresh projects along with galleries of stitch patterns for beginner and intermediate-level knitters. This completely illustrated guide is an essential tool for every new knitter. Features include: Tailored to the absolute beginner who has never picked up a pair of needles before, with clear, easy-to-understand illustrated instructions. Clear, comprehensive, color step-by-step instructions for all of the basic techniques of knitting — casting on, binding off, knit and purl stitches, and so much more. Stitch galleries with nearly two dozen patterns for decorative stitches such as cable, seed, and lace. Practice projects throughout help the reader learn and practice techniques. Handy guides teach how to decipher a chart, read a pattern, increase and decrease rows, buy the right yarn for your project, and more.

Cover Art
Knitting - Sharon Turner
ISBN: 9780470528327
Publication Date: 2010-02-08
A new edition of one of the top knitting primers on the market Teach Yourself VISUALLY Knitting has been one of the top knitting primers on the market since its publication five years ago. Now, updated with brand-new patterns, even more helpful photos, and expanded coverage of knitting techniques, Teach Yourself VISUALLY Knitting, 2nd Edition, is the go-to knitting book for crafters who learn faster by seeing and doing than by wading through tedious instruction books. You'll get visual guidance on the basic knit and purl stitches and advance to bobbles, cables, lace, and fancy color work. Photo by photo and stitch by stitch, you'll learn how to knit socks, hats, mittens, sweaters, and more. Concise two-page lessons show you all the steps to a skill and are ideal for quick review Detailed color photos demonstrate each step, and helpful tips provide additional guidance Other titles by Turner: Knitting VISUAL Quick Tips and Teach Yourself VISUALLY Knitting Design Packed with step-by-step instructions and fun, innovative patterns, Teach Yourself VISUALLY Knitting, 2nd Edition, will have you creating masterpieces in no time!

Cover Art
Knitting Tips and Trade Secrets - Mary Barnes (Editor); Threads Editors
ISBN: 1561581569
Publication Date: 1996-08-19
Knitting Tips and Trade Secrets Expanded contains 30% new material on everything from how to knit (and crochet) a better buttonhole to taking the kinks out of your circular needles. Organized by type of tip (yarn tips, tips for knitting in more than one color, tips for garment assembly, tips for machine knitters, crochet tips) for easy reference and illustrated with more than 170 step-by-step drawings, Knitting Tips and Trade Secrets Expanded is a knitting (and crochet) bag necessity.

 

Crochet Instruction

Books that help you learn to crochet!

Cover Art
A to Z of Crochet - Martingale and Company Staff
ISBN: 9781564779984
Publication Date: 2010-05-10
Whether you're a new crocheter or just want to try new techniques, this must-have resource offers all the know-how you'll ever need. And it's now in paperback! Walk step-by-step from basic to advanced methods Learn the easy way with more than 1000 close-up photographs featuring real hands holding real yarn Fix mistakes, shape garments, and find the answers to almost any crochet question

Cover Art
Idiot's Guides: Crochet - June Gilbank
ISBN: 9781615644599
Publication Date: 2014-08-05
Tailored for the complete crocheting novice, Idiot's Guides: Crochet is a fun, charming guide to learning the basic stitches and techniques. Photographed in a film-strip style, the dozens of full-color photographs and instructions allow the reader to clearly see how each stitch is executed. Every lesson is accompanied by a practice project, so the beginner can try out a newly learned crochet skill. More than a dozen unique projects are included, as well as galleries of crochet stitch patterns.

Cover Art
Crochet Lace - Jean Leinhauser; Rita Weiss
ISBN: 9781402733505
Publication Date: 2008-06-03
Every crocheter stares admiringly at vintage lace, wishing to replicate its delicacy and elegance. The originals were stitched with finer thread than we use today, making that gorgeous heirloom-quality crochet lace an elusive dream. This unique guide showcases a collection of antique tablecloths and bedspreads--each a magnificent example of the crocheter’s art--and revises the old techniques to suit today’s threads. Complete patterns are included for each project, along with instructions and full-page photos that make intricate designs easy to follow. Special attention is paid to working with traditional steel hooks and choosing the perfect crochet threads, and plenty of advice is offered for working in filet. These projects take time, but the results will become tomorrow’s heirlooms.  

 

Crochet Patterns

These books offer a variety of patterns and styles to use!

Cover Art
Irish Crochet - Priscilla Publishing Co. Staff
ISBN: 9780486247052
Publication Date: 2012-02-29
This excellent turn-of-the-century introduction to Irish crochet is a well-planned guide to all levels of skill and experience. The work includes step-by-step, illustrated directions for dozens of classic motifs, borders, and medallions - plus ways to combine them into bonnets, purses, gowns, and other clothing and accessories. 117 black-and-white illustrations.

Cover Art
99 Granny Squares to Crochet - Leisure Arts (Compiled by)
ISBN: 9781464718946
Publication Date: 2015-01-01
Take a creative journey beyond the basic granny square! The motifs in this book are great for using any weight of yarn and your favourite colour combinations to make throws, pillows, baby blankets, shawls, scarves or cowls, bags, and more. Depending on your mood, you can give a different look to every creation. There is no limit to what a granny square can become!

Cover Art
500 Crochet Blocks - Hannah Elgie & Kath Webber
ISBN: 1844489329
Publication Date: February 2013
00 Crochet Blocks by Hannah Elgie & Kath Webber is a fabulous compendium of everything crochet. There's plenty to choose: from really traditional designs to something new that everyone should try. The book is great for a beginner as well as the advanced crocheter as it's divided into easy patterns with step-by-step instructions and beautiful, colorful images. A perfect 'on the go' book as it's so small; all you need is some wool and hooks and you never need have another dull journey!

Cover Art
Cuddly Crochet - Stacey Trock
ISBN: 9781564779854
Publication Date: 2010-03-01
Looking for a great gift for a special youngster? Choose from 10 adorable stuffed animals and pair them with 10 practical items such as blankets, hats, and bibs for the perfect baby-gift combo. How about a kissable koala wrapped in a blanket--or a huggable mouse paired with a baby's bib! Each toy--including a cool truck--is the perfect size to be carried and cuddled by toddlers. With patterns just right for the novice, this book offers plenty for crocheters of all levels.

Cover Art
The Finer Edge - Kristin Omdahl
ISBN: 9781596685543
Publication Date: 2013-01-08
An innovative collection of 40 stitch and 12 garment patterns from best-selling author Kristin Omdahl, The Finer Edge demonstrates various techniques, construction methods, and versatile applications for crochet edgings. While crochet edgings are customarily used to trim or finish blankets and garments, designer Kristin Omdahl treats you to both traditional and novel new ways to expand your use of edgings. You will learn how edging patterns can be used to create entire fabrics, reformatted to make individual decorative motifs, reverse-engineered from existing fabrics, and even used to create three-dimensional designs. Focusing on construction techniques for edgings, The Finer Edge is divided into separate sections based on top-down, sideways, and bottom-up methods to help guide the reader. Though there are 12 project patterns that highlight the edgings, you'll be inspired to creatively mix and match within each edging's section. Also included in this gorgeous book are charts, illustrations, and photographs of crochet swatches and a pattern collection that includes multiple sizes, including plus sizes. Discover innovation at its finest with The Finer Edge.

 

Leisure Reading

Fiction and Non-fiction

Cover Art
Knitting - Anne Bartlett
ISBN: 9780141020655
Publication Date: 2005
When Sandra is widowed, with no children, and a career as a college lecturer only keeping her mildly busy, she feels she needs a new direction in her life. This comes in the shape of Martha, a woman she meets. She is a talented knitter. They decide to organise an exhibition on the history of women's clothing. What follows, changes Sandra's life.

Cover Art
Crochet Saved My Life - Kathryn Vercillo; Julie Michelle (Photographer)
ISBN: 9781478190455
Publication Date: 2012-07-01
Crochet saves lives. It saved mine.In the worst throes of depression I found myself sobbing on the bathroom floor, the tip of a kitchen knife pointed into my wrist. I was aching to break the flesh and bring the pain to an end. Through sheer force of will, I pried my own desperate hands open and replaced the knife with a crochet hook. Then I crocheted to save my life.In this book, you will get to know me through my story of depression and healing. And you will get to know other women as well.... Join us on our journey.

Cover Art
Knitting - Anne Bartlett
ISBN: 9780618499267
Publication Date: 2005-04-16
"Spinning, weaving, knitting, all part of the long tradition of women’s work, skills that had survived even the efficiency of the industrial revolution. Why did people still do it?" It’s been ten months since Jack died. For his widow, Sandra, a tightly wound teacher who thinks long and hard about such questions, the months have tested her belief that she can continue her ordered life without Jack. She feels as though she’s covered in ice-cold glass and will never be warm again. Knitting is the story of what happens when Sandra meets a woman who is her polar opposite on a sidewalk when they both stop to help a man in distress. While Sandra’s grief has constrained her spirit, Martha -- who lost her husband years before -- appears to wear her grief lightly. Sandra’s talent for the domestic arts lies in studying them; Martha is a brilliantly gifted knitter, a self-educated artist. When Sandra persuades Martha to help her mount an exhibition of retro and contemporary knitting, the two women’s lives tangle, with astonishing ramifications. What begins as a professional collaboration becomes something transformative and deeply personal. Anne Bartlett weaves a story that is seamless in its exploration of healing, grace, and the search for meaning, both within oneself and in the larger community. Readers will find much to admire in Sandra’s struggle to break out of her shell and much to wonder at in Martha’s visionary spirit. Knitting marks the debut of a writer whose work puts her in the company of writers such as Carol Shields, Barbara Kingsolver, and Louise Erdrich.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Sarah Slominski
 

Knitting Patterns

These books hold collections of knitting patterns if you're looking to make something new.

Cover Art
Up, down, All-Around Stitch Dictionary - Wendy Bernard
ISBN: 9781617690990
Publication Date: 2014-05-20
Stitch dictionaries are to knitters what Webster’s is to a writer. Within the pages of these inspiring reference books are the endless variations of knit and purl stitches that produce the fabrics of all knitting. But in the Up, Down, All-Around Stitch Dictionary, designer Wendy Bernard does something no other author has done before-- she presents instructions for working 150 popular stitch patterns four different ways: top down, bottom up, back and forth, and in the round. This hefty collection, ranging from lace and cables to colorwork and fancy edgings, is loaded with beautifully photographed swatches of each pattern, plus charted and text instructions. To showcase the stitch patterns in action, Bernard also includes instructions for eight garments as well as her famous formulas for knitting garments without a pattern. This is an invaluable go-to resource, sure to inspire legions of knitters to use stitch patterns in new and exciting ways.

Cover Art
Traditional Knitting Patterns - James Norbury
ISBN: 9780486210131
Publication Date: 1973-06-01
In this book you will find 263 different patterns and designs, the best traditional knitting material from the Arabic, Spanish, Italian, French, German, Austrian, Dutch, Scandinavian, Shetland, English, Scottish, and Irish knitting traditions. All are presented clearly so you can use them immediately in your own work, or use them for learning how knitting developed the world over. In an easy-to-use format, the patterns and designs are first presented according to country. Then, after a short introduction discussing characteristic patterns, backgrounds, and influences, the author presents groupings of folk designs and traditional patterns. Each pattern and design is accompanied by a photograph of the completed work and either a chart or carefully written out instructions showing how to work the patterns. Since designs and patterns are given for characteristic units that can be repeated, you can use these patterns for projects of all sizes and shapes as well as for individual motifs. With a little planning these patterns can be used successfully for a wide range of knitting needs. Knitters can use this book for learning exciting knitting traditions and for picking up new motifs and designs. In looking through the patterns and designs you will see how new ideas sprang up and how others were carried from culture to culture. But most importantly you will have on hand 256 different patterns, some of the most powerful folk material the knitter can have. The author's clear instructions can be followed by anyone who practices basic knitting.

Cover Art
Cast on, Bind Off - Leslie Ann Bestor
ISBN: 1603427244
Publication Date: 2012-06-19
Discover the perfect beginning and ending for every knitting project! Detailed instructions for each technique are combined with step-by-step photography to help you create edges that are tighter, looser, stretchier, or lacier. No matter what you're knitting, Leslie Ann Bestor has the cast on and bind off that will give your project the perfect edge. 

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip