This is the "General Information" page of the "Government Information-Healthcare in the U.S." guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Government Information-Healthcare in the U.S.  

Use this LibGuide in order to find out more information about Healthcare within the United States. You will be able to find resources for general information, research info and statistics.
Last Updated: Feb 28, 2017 URL: http://libguides.nccuslis.org/content.php?pid=707933 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

General Information Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Welcome

Welcome to the Government Healthcare Information LibGuide!

Image result for government information

Here you will find information about Healthcare in the United States. Links will be provided for books in the catalog as well as other digital resources. If you have any questions please do not hestitate to contact me! Happy Hunting!

 

General Policies

This list serves as a concise list of the general policies that govern any information that is taken from this LibGuide. If you have any questions about these rules please do not hesitate to contact me.

  1. You need your student ID to check out materials from the library. 
  2. NCCU Students have access to both physical and digital materials through their student account. If you have any questions please do not hesitate to contact the SLIS Library
  3. Most of this information is available through public domain and is thus governed by related copyright laws. 
  4. If you would like to take information from this LibGuide please contact the LibGuide owner, Amber Glenn-Thomas at aglennth@eagles.nccu.edu. 
 

Healthcare in the US

Image result for US Healthcare

Healthcare is provided by various organizations within the United States. Most health care facilities are owned and operated through the private sector. 58% of hospitals are non-profit, 21% are government owned and 21% are for non-profit and research.  According to the World Health Organization(WHO), the United States spent more on health care per capita ($8,608), and more on health care as percentage of its GDP (17.2%), than any other nation as of 2011. 64.3% of health spending was paid for by the government in 2013 and funded programs such as Medicare and Medicaid. Health insurance for the public sector is primarily provided by the government. 

The United States life expectancy of 78.4 years at birth, up from 75.2 years in 1990, ranks it 50th among 221 nations, and 27th out of the 34 industrialized OECD countries, down from 20th in 1990. Of 17 high-income countries studied by the National Institutes of Health in 2013, the United States had the highest or near-highest prevalence of obesity, car accidents, infant mortality, heart and lung disease, sexually transmitted infections, adolescent pregnancies, injuries, and homicides.  A 2014 survey of the healthcare systems of 11 developed countries found the US healthcare system to be the most expensive and worst-performing in terms of health access, efficiency, and equity.

Taken from Wikipedia

 

Statistics

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Amber Glenn-Thomas
Contact Info
Send Email
 

Government Contact Information

By phone
Available 24/7
1-800-318-2596
TTY: 1-855-889-4325

Small businesses resources
Call: 1-800-706-7893
TTY: 1-800-706-7915
Monday through Friday, 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. EST. Agents and brokers may also use this number.

 

Searching

How to access the Shepard Library catalog to look for books:

  1. Go to http://web.nccu.edu/shepardlibrary/ 
  2. Click in the “Search” bar at the top of the page
  3. Type in your search

How to access the Shepard Library databases to look for articles:

On-campus

  1. Go to http://web.nccu.edu/shepardlibrary/
  2. Click in the “Article Search” bar at the top of the page
  3. Type in your search
  4. You have the option of searching databases by subject, through a A-Z list, and by Full Text
  5. Clicking on the "Advanced Search" option in any of the databases will give you more flexibility in your search

Off-campus

  1. Go to http://web.nccu.edu/shepardlibrary/ and click on "Off-campus access" on the menu on the left side of the page
  2. Follow the instructions for accessing the databases off-campus
  3. Click in the “Article Search” bar at the top of the page
  4. Type in your search
  5. You have the option of searching databases by subject, through a A-Z list, and by Full Text
  6. Clicking on the "Advanced Search" option in any of the databases will give you more flexibility in your search
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip