This is the "Home" page of the "Copyright Infringement in the Music Industry" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Copyright Infringement in the Music Industry  

This libguide provides information on copyright infringement in the music industry
Last Updated: Nov 21, 2015 URL: http://libguides.nccuslis.org/content.php?pid=688252 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

What is Copyright Infringement?

 INTRODUCTION

This libguide contains information regarding copyright infringement in the music industry.  It contains an overview of copyright law and what it is as well as the definition of copyright infringement and what to do if your copyright has been infringed upon.  Also located in this guide is information on famous infringement cases and copyright infringement in the news.

 

Books

Music and Copyright - Ronald S. Rosen; Ronald Rosen
ISBN: ISBN:9780195338362
Publication Date: 2008-10-27
The highly topical area of copyright law, as applied to music, is widely misunderstood by lawyers, business people, and - perhaps most seriously - the federal judiciary. More than ever, there is a need to understand music infringement issues within the context of copyright litigation. In Musicand Copyright, Ron Rosen provides readers with a practical and strategic roadmap to the music-infringement litigation process, beginning with the client's claim or defense and continuing through the selection and use of trial experts, discovery, motion practice, and trial. Renowned for his expertise and career-long commitment to entertainment, intellectual property, and commercial litigation, Ron Rosen has condensed his experience into an essential guide for anyone involved in music-infringement litigation. Packed with elucidating examples from the author's own practice, Music and Copyright navigates the often thorny terrain between notions of the legal and the musical providing practical advice, case studies, forms, and commentary along the way.

Creativity and Innovation in the Music Industry - Peter Tschmuck
ISBN: isbn=3642284302
Publication Date: 2012-03-07
Why did jazz become a dominant popular music genre in the 1920s and rock 'n' roll in the 1950s? Why did heavy metal, punk rock and hiphop find their way from sub-cultures to the established music industry? What are the effects of new communication technologies and the Internet on the creation of music in the early 21st century? These and other questions are answered by Peter Tschmuck through an integrated model of creativity and innovation that is based on an international history of music industry since Thomas A. Edison invented the phonograph in 1877. Thus, the history of the music industry is described in full detail. By discussing the historic process of music production, distribution and reception the author highlights several revolutions in the music industry that were caused by the inference of aesthetic, technological, legal, economic, social and political processes of change. On the basis of an integrated model of creativity and innovation, an explanation is given on how the processes and structures of the present music industry will be altered by the ongoing digital revolution, which totally changed the value-added network of the production, dissemination and use of music. For the second edition, the author has reworked chapter 9 in order to include all the developments which shaped the music industry in the first decade of the 21st century - from Napster to cloud-based music services and even beyond.

Legal Aspects of the Music Industry - Richard Schulenberg
ISBN: isbn=0823083276
Publication Date: 1999-02-01
This comprehensive reference features in-depth discussions of every important music industry contract, all enlivened by personal anecdotes from the author's wide-ranging experiences. Updated to reflect the rapid pace of change in the music industry, this new edition includes a focus on group agreements, live performances, free music on the Internet, the effect of the Millennium Copyright Act, ancillary rights, and the independent record label. Other key issues covered include the artists' rebellion against record company contracts, litigation by superstars and songwriters against record labels, and the industry-wide downturn in record sales. • "I wish this book had been available when I was starting out."—Sam Moore, R&B artist, Rock and Roll Hall of Famer • For amateur and professional musicians; attorneys, universities and music schools, and libraries • Contains over 300 examples of contract provisions

Cover Art
The Death and Life of the Music Industry in the Digital Age - Jim Rogers
ISBN: 9781623560010
Publication Date: 2013-05-09
The Death and Life of the Music Industry in the Digital Age challenges the conventional wisdom that the internet is 'killing' the music industry. While technological innovations (primarily in the form of peer-to-peer file-sharing) have evolved to threaten the economic health of major transnational music companies, Rogers illustrates how those same companies have themselves formulated highly innovative response strategies to negate the harmful effects of the internet. In short, it documents how the radical transformative potential of the internet is being suppressed by legal and organisational innovations. Grounded in a social shaping perspective, The Death and Life of the Music Industry in the Digital Age contends that the internet has not altered pre-existing power relations in the music industry where a small handful of very large corporations have long since established an oligopolistic dominance. Furthermore, the book contends that widespread acceptance of the idea that online piracy is rampant, and music largely 'free' actually helps these major music companies in their quest to bolster their power. In doing this, the study serves to deflate much of the transformative hype and digital 'deliria' that has accompanied the internet's evolution as a medium for mass communication.

Cover Art
Music Publishing - Ron Sobel; Dick Weissman
ISBN: 9780415976213
Publication Date: 2008-06-24
'Music Publishing' covers the basics of how a composition is copyrighted, published, and promoted. Taking a practical approach, the authors explain the basic concept of copyright law as it pertains to compositions. They then break down the sources of income that can be exploited, examining the role of the music publisher.

The Piracy Crusade - Aram Sinnreich
ISBN: isbn=1625340516
Publication Date: 2013-12-01

Music Copyright Law - David J. Moser
ISBN: isbn=1435459733
Publication Date: 2011-01-01
Gain an in-depth understanding of a topic that is vital to the success of anyone in or entering the music industry, with MUSIC COPYRIGHT LAW. From songwriters and performers to managers, producers, and agents - everyone is affected by the issues covered in this book. Avoiding the technical jargon and "lawyerspeak" that bogs down other books on the subject, the book explores the world of copyright law and hones in on how it applies to music. It begins by building a foundational knowledge of the fundamentals of copyright law, what it protects, the benefits of registering a copyright, and what to do when copyright has been infringed. Once the fundamentals are established, coverage expands to include controversies involving copyright and music in the digital age and the debates over online music. Packed with practical examples that bring complex concepts to life, this book is a must-have for any professional in or entering music business.

Music Law in the Digital Age - Allen Bargfrede; Cecily Mak
ISBN: isbn=0876390998
Publication Date: 2009-12-01
(Berklee Press). Learn copyright essentials in order to succeed in today's music industry. With the free-form exchange of music files and musical ideas online, understanding copyright laws has become essential to career success in the new music marketplace. This cutting-edge, plain-language guide shows you how copyright law drives the contemporary music industry. Whether you are an artist, lawyer, entertainment Web site administrator, record label executive, student, or other participant in the music industry, this book will help you understand how copyright law affects you, helping you use the law to your benefit. Topics include basic copyright law, the Copyright Act, proper licenses for the legal online delivery of music, high profile court decisions related to copyright violations, using music on sites like MySpace and YouTube, and much more.

ICT Law Book - Adam J. Mambi
ISBN: isbn=998708074X
Publication Date: 2010-12-01
Recent developments in Information and Communication Technologies (ICT) have brought about changes that have revolutionalised traditional ways of conducting business. While these developments in cyberspace bear legal implications, legal regimes in some African countries such as Tanzania have not kept pace with the changes in order to properly regulate related activities happening under cyberspace. This volume attempts to bridge the gap between the Law and ICT developments in East Africa. It attempts to respond to questions such as: What is Cyber Law? How are Parties Identified under a Relationship in a Cyberspace Environment? How are Banking and other Cyber Payments Done? What about Combating Cyber Crime and Managing E-Commerce? What is the Impact of ICT on Intellectual Property Rights? And, how are Internet Domain Names Regulated? The volume is a useful handbook for those who want to understand the changing legal guidelines in relation to developments in ICT.

Web 2. 0 and Alternative Methods of Online Music Rights Management - Baris Isik
ISBN: isbn=3640992482
Publication Date: 2011-08-01
Master's Thesis from the year 2011 in the subject Law - Media, Multimedia Law, Copyright, grade: 14/20, Leuven Catholic University (The Centre for Advanced Legal Studies (C.A.L.S.)), course: International & European Copyright Law, language: English, comment: This paper aims to propose alternative approaches to online copyright management in the music industry, which allows for a more fair balance between copyright owners' exclusive rights and the fundamental rights of individuals. On the one hand, it leads to a more liberal online environment where individuals freely and legally exchange copyrighted media, on the other hand it secures the right owners' economic rights and thus the incentive for creation is still effective., abstract: This paper aims to propose alternative approaches to online copyright management in the music industry. To do so, it first introduces the concept of Web 2.0 and discusses its relevance to online copyright infringement in the music industry. In addition, current legislative framework both at the international and E.U. level is discussed in order to provide the reader with a picture of the current enforcement system. In a number of E.U. Member States as well as outside the E.U., there have been legislative efforts to control copyright infringement online. Graduated response is one of these systems which is adopted and being implemented by a few Member States. However, there have been strong reactions by user groups against this system in that the system threatens individuals' fundamental rights such as right to privacy, freedom of expression and freedom to access to information. In light of these reactions, this paper argues that the efforts of legislators to introduce stricter measures are futile and limit fundamental rights. This paper suggests that the legislator, instead, should introduce an exemption into the current legislation to protect Internet users who exchange media online for noncommercial purposes. The proposed system all

Internet and the Law - Aaron Schwabach
ISBN: isbn=1610693507
Publication Date: 2013-01-01
"Internet and the Law: Technology, Society, and Compromises, Second Edition" is "the" go-to source for anyone who needs clear explanations of complex legal concepts related to online practices and content. This wide-ranging, alphabetical reference explores diverse areas of law, including territorial jurisdiction and taxation, that are relevant to or affected by advances in information technology and the rise of the Internet. Particular emphasis is placed on intellectual property law and laws regarding freedom of expression. The Internet, as this book shows, raises questions not only about how to protect intellectual creations, but about what should be protected. Entries also discuss how the Web has brought First Amendment rights and free expression into question as society grapples with attempts to control "leaks" and to restrict content such as pornography, spam, defamation, and criminal speech.

Legal Issues in the Music Industry - Mark J. Davis
ISBN: isbn=0615336868
Publication Date: 2010-01-01
Do you know the answers to these questions? (You had better, if you want to survive in the music business.) * What can I copyright? * Why will a Poor Man copyright keep me poor? * Can I sell my copyright? Give it to my kids? * What is infringement? * What is Fair Use? (it is not what you think it is) * How do songwriters get paid? * What does a music publisher do? Do I need one? * Who are ASCAP, BMI, and SESAC? * How do cover songs work? * What is the difference between a parody and infringement? * What is in a record deal? * We are putting out our own album, what do we do? * What do all those legal terms mean? * How do recording artists get paid? * Am I recouped yet? Mark J. Davis is an attorney, university lecturer, and former arbitrator for the US Copyright Office. His students have gone on to careers in the music industry after taking his classes. Rely on his 30 years of experience in entertainment law.

Internet and the Law - Aaron Schwabach
ISBN: isbn=1610693507
Publication Date: 2013-01-01
"Internet and the Law: Technology, Society, and Compromises, Second Edition" is "the" go-to source for anyone who needs clear explanations of complex legal concepts related to online practices and content. This wide-ranging, alphabetical reference explores diverse areas of law, including territorial jurisdiction and taxation, that are relevant to or affected by advances in information technology and the rise of the Internet. Particular emphasis is placed on intellectual property law and laws regarding freedom of expression. The Internet, as this book shows, raises questions not only about how to protect intellectual creations, but about what should be protected. Entries also discuss how the Web has brought First Amendment rights and free expression into question as society grapples with attempts to control "leaks" and to restrict content such as pornography, spam, defamation, and criminal speech.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip