This is the "Home" page of the "The Recollections and the Origins of Archives" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

The Recollections and the Origins of Archives  

This Libguide covers the origins of the Archives and Records Management concentration of LSIS. Furthermore, this guide will give shining examples of what you will need to preserve the documents in order for the patrons to see.
Last Updated: Nov 9, 2015 URL: http://libguides.nccuslis.org/content.php?pid=686896 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

The Rich History of Archives

History is often buried into a long existence we no longer care for because society wants to move forward with what the future has in store for us. But what we do not realize is, in order to move forward, there has to be something that is worth recording and worth keeping so that we can be reminded of how, what, when, and where did the concept come into fuition. We keep a recorded collection of events that take place in our everyday lives.

Preservation, and documentation of the events that took place in the past are a crucial part of we call an "Archive". The documentation of the "event or thing" must be well preserved enough for the Person or "Archivist", to present whatever information that can found from the item. If there is information recorded by hand (written), the information has to legible enough to read. 

As of today, every element of recorded history is digitized through use of a computer of some sort. For example a microfiche machine, or microfiche, according to Merriam Webster's online dictionary is clearly defined as a machine that is used for reading of documents stored as microfilm. Microfilm includes flat film, Microfilm, Aperture Cards, Microfiche, and ultrafiche.  Although was treated as a novelty until the 1920's, microforms originated much earlier. John Benjamin Dancer, an English scientist, known as the "Father of Microphotography," began to experiment with and manufacture microproduced novelty texts as early as 1839. In 1853 he successfully sold microphotographs as slides to be viewed with a microscope. Utilizing Dancer's techniques, a French optician, Rene Dagron, was granted the first patent for microfilm in 1859. He also began the first commercial microfilming enterprise, manufacturing and selling microphotographic trinkets. Dagron, in the fall and winter of 1870-71, during the Franco-Prussian War, demonstrated a practical use for microforms when carrier pigeons were used to transport microfilmed messages across German lines to the besieged city of Paris 

 

The Concept of Records Management

(The Archivist)  (Microfiche machine) are the elements to what is needed to in order for the concept of Archives and Records Management to exist. Recording and managing old records can be quite a tasks.   Especially if there is hundreds if not thousands of records that were recorded in some form or fashion. With the meticulous care of the persons effort to preserve the documents  (Archivist) and the razor sharp precision provided by the Dewey Decimal System, the library or any other facility can get the ball moving faster and the job of the archivist gets easier, or, more interesting. Speaking of the Dewey Decimal System, according to the educational resources center or commonly know by librarians as ERIC, it was implied that "because of its hierarchical notation, the Dewey Decimal Classification is advantageous for machine searching. However, the increased volume of topics in recent years has made recoding in the system necessary. Education, for example, is a rapidly changing field, and the Dewey Decimal Classification system has not kept pace. As a result subject access to some education literature can be frustrating. It is expected that the forthcoming Edition 19 will do much overcome the present shortcomings. (WBC). 

Electronic Information Systems are the future of Library and Information Science.  We are in an era where digitalization is part of daily lives. Smartphones, smart watches, tablets, laptops, and all other digital devices area shining example of how innovative technology has evolved. Yes, technology has evolved to the point where doing the occasional tasks of searching for information without the use of cracking open a book and actually reading it from top to bottom just to find that one answer. As of today, we have state of the art search engines for that purpose and they are ERIC, World Cat, Library of Congress, and everyone's last resort, Google. 

The world has gotten lazy since the brink of the evolution of technology. Or to be politically correct, the world has gotten used to the innovative tech making things more convenient and accessible. The library, has come a long way in terms of changing with the times.  Digitizing the collections of the old is like a renovation of an infrastructure. The Archivist is basically preserving the document to pristine or at least mint condition so that information on the document is legible enough to put on showcase for patrons that proceed into the library.

To elaborate more on digitalization, the purposes of digitizing documents, digitizing should be understood not just as the act of scanning an analog document into digital form, but as a series of activities that result in a digital copy being made available to end users via the Internet or other means for a sustained length of time. The activities include document identification and selection, document preparation(including preservation, access review and screening, locating, pulling, and refiling).  Basic descriptive and technical metadata collection must besufficient to allow retrieval and management of the digital copies and toprovide basic contextual information for the user.  Also the Archivist must be concerned about the safety of the material being digitized.   According to the U.S. National Archives and Records Administration, Digitization should be done in a “use-neutral” manner, not for a specific output. Image quality parameters have been selected to satisfy most types of output.

If digitization is done to meet the recommended image parameters and all other requirements, the production master image files produced should be usable for a wide variety of applications and meet over 95% of reproduction requests 

 

Photos and Images of the Archives

Courtney Miller's Bio

Profile Image
Courtney Miller
Contact Info
910-257-4624 (Mobile)
910-484-6000 (Work)
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip